bet365 Doncaster Cup
Group 2, Doncaster 15:15
£80,000 added,
3yo plus,
2m 2f, Class 1    
Friday 11th September 2020

Free Racing Tips

1 Spanish Mission 6/4F
2 Selino 12/1
3 The Grand Visir 10/1
7 ran Distances: 3l, 4l, ½l
Time: 3m 55.84s (slow by 5.84s)

A smart performer for David Simcock last season, Spanish Mission has now won both his races since joining Balding.

Still only a four-year-old, the Noble Mission colt arguably had to prove his stamina over two and a quarter miles – and he clearly answered any lingering doubts.

Selino, who had finished behind Spanish Mission at Chester, kicked for home over two furlongs out, but William Buick had him in his sights on the 6-4 favourite.

On entering the final furlong Spanish Mission quickened impressively and powered away to win by three lengths.

Sir Mark Prescott’s Revolver, who was stepping up in class having won six handicaps on the bounce, briefly threatened to take a hand in the finish before his effort petered out and he was passed for third by The Grand Visir.

Buick said: “He was over-racing at stages, not the whole way, but just at stages. Two miles two is a long way, but he was never really doing too much.

“He was always going to come into the race easily – it was just whether he’d see it out, and he did see it out very well.

“He’s got that bit of class against these stayers, that turn of foot. That together with his stamina is a good combination.

“I’m sure all those races will be on his radar. Who knows – potentially next year, he might even make up into a Gold Cup horse.

“Connections will have a chat – and in that staying division, he’s going to be a lively contender.”

bet365 Doncaster Cup
(British Champions Series) (Group 2)
£80,000 added, 3yo plus, 2m 2f, Class 1
7 ran
Going: Good

1 (2)    Spanish Mission 4 9-5 Andrew Balding William Buick 6/4F
2 (3)
3 Selino 4 9-5 James Fanshawe Cieren Fallon 12/1
3 (7)
4 The Grand Visir 6 9-5 Ian Williams Jim Crowley 10/1
4 (1)
½ Revolver 3 8-7 Sir Mark Prescott Bt Luke Morris 3/1
5 (4)
2 Eagles By Day 4 9-5 David O'Meara Daniel Tudhope 9/2
6 (5)
Island Brave 6 9-5 Heather Main Martin Dwyer 40/1
7 (6)
8 Red Verdon 7 9-8 Ed Dunlop Frankie Dettori 11/1

Year Horse Trainer Jockey Owner SP

2018 Thomas Hobson
2017 Desert Skyline
2016 Sheikhzayedroad D M Simcock Martin Harley Mohammed Jaber 10/3
2014 Estimate Sir Michael Stoute Ryan Moore The Queen 11/8 fav
2013 Times Up Ed Dunlop Ryan Moore Mrs I Stewart & M Meacock 3/1
2012 Times Up John Dunlop Eddie Ahern Mrs I Stewart & M Meacock 5/1
2011 Saddler’s Rock John Oxx IRE Niall McCullagh Michael O’Flynn 11/2
2010 Samuel John Gosden William Buick Normandie Stud Ltd 5/1
2009 Askar Tau Marcus Tregoning Ryan Moore Nurlan Bizakov 5/2
2008 Honolulu Aidan O’Brien IRE Johnny Murtagh Derrick Smith, Sue Magnier, Michael Tabor 15/8 fav
2007 Septimus Aidan O'Brien IRE Johnny Murtagh Derrick Smith, Sue Magnier, Michael Tabor 11/10 fav
2006 Sergeant Cecil Rod Millman Frankie Dettori Terry Cooper Evens fav
2005 Millenary John Dunlop Richard Quinn Neil Jones 11/4
2004 DH Kasthari Howard Johnson Johnny Murtagh Elliott Bros 14/1
DH Millenary John Dunlop Richard Quinn Neil Jones 7/1
2003 Persian Punch David Elsworth Martin Dwyer Jeff Smith 3/1
2002 Boreas Luca Cumani Jamie Spencer Aston House Stud 7/2
2001 Alleluia Sir Mark Prescott Jamie Mackay Sonia Rogers 14/1
2000 Enzeli John Oxx IRE Johnny Murtagh H H Aga Khan 15/2
1999 Far Cry Martin Pipe Kevin Darley Nicky Chambers 6/1

Mathematician Betting