tote Celebration Mile
horse racing tipster
Group 2, Goodwood 15:35
£125,000 added,
3yo plus,
1m, Class 1
Saturday 28th August 2021


1 Lavender's Blue 20/1
2 Benbatl 9/4F
3 Pogo 18/1
9 ran NR: Escobar (declared in error)
Distances: shd, 2l, shd Time: 1m 36.21s (fast by 0.89s)

Trained locally by Amanda Perrett and ridden by Rob Hornby, the 20-1 winner was the lowest-rated of the nine runners.

Settled in the rear by Rob Hornby, she looked to have plenty to do as Benbatl hit the front with over a furlong to run.

The multiple Group One winner took a couple of lengths out of the field and looked sure to collect on his first run for almost a year, but the only mare in the field began to reel him in.

Lavender’s Blue was closing with every stride and in the shadow of the post she hit the front, prevailing by a short head from Benbatl.

Perrett last won the race 19 years ago with Tillerman in 2002.

Trainers Quotes

“She’s really deserved that as we’ve set her some stiff tasks the last few times,” said Perrett.

“The fillies’ division is really strong this year and that is why we weren’t too worried about taking on the opposite sex today.”

She went on: “Her Group Two win has been long overdue, so I’m just really glad to get it done today.

“Her form is very strong. She’s very consistent, she loves top of the ground and if you look at her three-year-old form, she was mixing it with Oaks fillies, so she deserved a big one.

“We just need to finish it off now by winning the Sun Chariot, which is where she’ll go next at Newmarket and we’ll hope for fast ground.”

Lavender’s Blue was bred by her owner Benny Andersson of ABBA fame.

Perrett added: “I’m delighted for Mr Andersson, her owner/breeder. You couldn’t wish to train for a better man and it’s great for him, especially as he loves Goodwood.

“With ABBA releasing more music, it’s all happening for him.”

AutoUpdating 640x85 Gif

tote Celebration Mile (Group 2)
£125,000 added, 3yo plus, 1m, Class 1
9 ran
Going: Good to Firm

1 (7)    Lavender's Blue 5 9-1 Amanda Perrett Rob Hornby 20/1
2 (8)
shd Benbatl 7 9-4 Saeed bin Suroor Oisin Murphy 9/4F
3 (4)
2 Pogo 5 9-4 Charles Hills Kieran Shoemark 18/1
4 (3)
shd Chindit 3 8-12 Richard Hannon Pat Dobbs 16/5
5 (9)
shd Perotto 3 8-12 Marcus Tregoning Cieren Fallon 14/1
6 (6)
¾ Happy Power 5 9-4 Andrew Balding Silvestre De Sousa 10/1
7 (1)
¾ Duke Of Hazzard 5 9-4 Paul & Oliver Cole James Doyle 9/1
8 (2)
shd Mutasaabeq 3 8-12 Charles Hills Jim Crowley 9/2
9 (5)
Stormy Antarctic 8 9-4 Ed Walker Frankie Dettori 40/1
NR 3 (10) Escobar 7 9-4 David O'Meara NON RUNNER